Skip to main content
Answer Engine InsightsBy Kevin O'Connell19 min readPublished May 9, 2026Updated September 11, 2026

10 Best AI Citation Tracking Tools for B2B (2026)

10 AI citation tracking tools scored against a 5-criterion rubric. Honest tradeoffs, transparent pricing, and what to ask before you sign anything.

Ten AI citation tracking tools scored against a 5-criterion rubric. Engine coverage, tracking cadence, metric depth, pricing transparency, and model-version transparency. Original audit 2026-05-09 and refresh audit 2026-05-19 both anchored against each vendor's own publicly accessible pages. Cells where verification produced no substantiation read "Not publicly disclosed" rather than inferred or invented.

Every tool below is the marketing kind. If you came looking for Zotero, Scite, Semantic Scholar, or Elicit, those follow scholarly references between published papers and none of them appear here. Two unrelated categories share the name, and how the two categories differ is worth two minutes before you shortlist anything.

  • Top score (10/10): AI-Advisors Growth ($99/mo).
  • Tied at 8/10: SEMRush AI Visibility Toolkit ($99/mo standalone) and Otterly Standard ($189/mo).
  • New in the 2026-09-09 expansion: Ahrefs Brand Radar (7/10), AthenaHQ (6/10), and Scrunch AI (5/10), each verified against its own pricing page that day.
  • Cross-tool differentiator: AI-Advisors is the only verified tool in the set that ships a live ChatGPT Ads integration plus an in-product Google Ads to ChatGPT Ads converter alongside citation tracking. The rubric scores citation tracking specifically; the paid integration sits alongside the rubric as the verified-set differentiator.
  • Category opacity: model-version transparency. Nine of ten vendors disclose neither specific model versions nor an always-current policy commitment in the product copy a typical buyer evaluates.
  • Pricing range: a free tier (AthenaHQ Essential, 300 credits) and $29/mo (Otterly Lite) at the entry end, up to enterprise contact-sales (Profound). Mid-market dedicated tier ($79-$199/mo) has the most options.
  • Verification methodology disclosed. Vendor set expanded 2026-09-09; next full re-audit planned for approximately 2026-12-09.

What AI citation tracking actually does

AI citation tracking is the operational discipline of monitoring whether ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Google AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Claude, and Grok cite your brand in answers to questions your buyers actually ask. It is the AI-Search equivalent of rank tracking. The scoreboard that tells you whether the upstream work, the content, the schema, the llms.txt file, the third-party signals, is reaching the engines real customers consult before they ever land on your site.

Three jobs sit inside this discipline. Prompt construction chooses which buyer-scenario questions to run repeatedly. Response capture records, per prompt and per engine, whether your brand appears, who else appears alongside you, and which sources the engine pulled from. Trend tracking rolls the per-run results into citation rate, share of voice, and sentiment drift over time. The category sits alongside the sibling discipline of AI prompt monitoring, which is the same loop framed from the input side rather than the output side.

The reason this is a real product category rather than a feature inside an existing SEO suite is that the buyer-information layer has migrated. Most B2B buyers ask the same evaluation questions in ChatGPT in 2026 that they asked of Google in 2020. The tracking discipline that worked for search engine results pages does not automatically generalize to conversational engine responses, which is why a dedicated tier of tools emerged across 2025 and 2026. The ten tools in this comparison are the ones whose primary product job is the operational discipline of citation tracking, not a feature wrapped around a broader platform.

Citation vs mention vs backlink: what the terms actually mean

The three terms get used interchangeably and they are not the same thing. Which one your tool measures shapes what your weekly scorecard tells you, and shapes which conversations with the engineering and content teams the numbers actually support.

  • Citation. The engine quotes or paraphrases your brand-owned content and, in most cases, attaches a source link the user can click. A citation is the AI-Search analog of a click-eligible SERP organic result. Citation rate is the percentage of tracked prompts where your brand appears as a cited source.
  • Mention. The engine names your brand in the body of an answer without a sourced link. AI brand mentions count toward awareness but they are not clickable, and they typically lag citations as an attribution signal because the engine is harder to attribute to specific content.
  • Backlink. A traditional inbound link from one website to another. AI engines may or may not weight backlinks in their retrieval; the legacy SEO assumption that backlink counts mattered for Google rank does not translate cleanly to whether ChatGPT cites you. Backlink tracking belongs in an SEO suite, not an AI citation tracking tool.

Most tracking tools surface citation as the headline metric, mention as a secondary metric, and don't surface backlinks at all because that is a different job. When you read vendor copy, check which of the three terms appears next to the "score" they expose. Citation rate and share of voice are the two most decision-useful weekly numbers. Mention frequency is a sentiment-and-awareness number more than an attribution number. Citation velocity and citation drift are the second-order metrics that surface once you have eight weeks of baseline data and a working dashboard cadence.

Marketing citation tracking vs academic citation tracking

Two unrelated software categories share the name "AI citation tracking," and searching the phrase returns both. Every tool on this page belongs to the marketing category. If you are here for the other one, the shortlist below will save you the scroll.

  • Marketing citation tracking (this page). Monitors whether ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Google AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Claude, and Grok cite your brand as a source when buyers ask evaluation questions. The output is a citation rate and a share of voice trend you report to a marketing team. The buyer is a marketer.
  • Academic citation tracking. Follows scholarly references between published papers. Reference managers like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote organize what you cite; Scite, Semantic Scholar, Elicit, Litmaps, and ResearchRabbit map who cited whom and, in Scite's case, whether a later paper supported or contradicted the finding. The output is research impact. The buyer is a researcher or librarian. None of these tools track brand visibility in AI answers, and none of the ten below track scholarly references.

A third practice sits nearby and is also not this: AI citation verification, which checks whether the sources an AI tool produced inside its own answer actually exist. That is the anti-hallucination discipline for people who write with AI, not a brand-measurement discipline.

The distinction matters commercially because the two categories measure different things on different clocks. Academic tools read a published corpus, where a citation is permanent once it exists and the record changes slowly. Marketing citation trackers sample a generated surface, where the same prompt can return a different answer tomorrow, which is why every tool below is metered in prompts or responses and re-run on a cadence. Buying the wrong category is not a near miss; it is a different product for a different job.

The 10 tools at a glance

Below is the full comparison sorted by tier. Each row anchors to the headline tier of that vendor (Starter for some, Standard or Growth for others) so the entry-level price is what the score reflects. The full per-tool detail with scorecard breakdown follows in the per-tier sections.

The 10 tools at a glance
Original audit 2026-05-09; refreshed 2026-05-19; vendor set expanded 2026-09-09. Score = 5-criterion rubric, 10 max. Anchored at the headline tier of each vendor.
ToolTierEntry pricingEnginesCadenceScore
ProfoundEnterpriseContact sales9Not stated on homepage or …6/10
SEMRush AI Visibility ToolkitEnterprise / SEO-suite$99/mo standalone5Weekly Brand Performance +…8/10
Ahrefs Brand RadarEnterprise / SEO-suiteFrom $50/mo7Custom prompts refresh dai…7/10
Scrunch AIEnterprise$250/mo (Core)4Not publicly disclosed on …5/10
AthenaHQEnterpriseFree (Essential); $295/mo (Starter)5Not publicly disclosed on …6/10
AI-AdvisorsMid-market dedicated$99/mo (Growth)4 + add-onWeekly briefings + 3 manua…10/10
PeecMid-market dedicatedTier names public, $$ not disclosed on /pricing7Daily tracking (Starter th…6/10
SuperlinesMid-market dedicated€89/mo (Starter)3Daily tracking (all tiers)7/10
OtterlySMB / Starter$29/mo (Lite)4 + add-onDaily tracking (all tiers)8/10
Visby.aiSMB / Newer entrant$79/mo (Starter)3"Real-time alerts" stated;…5/10

How we picked these 10 (and what we left out)

The selection rubric had four hard filters and one soft filter. Hard filters: each tool had to track at least three AI engines, support an automated cadence (not on-demand only), output at least one trend-trackable brand-visibility metric, and be a real product available in 2026. Soft filter: cross-spread of pricing tiers from SMB through enterprise so the comparison reads as a multi-tier landscape rather than a single-segment one.

Tools we left out and why: Discovered Labs is a managed AEO service rather than a tracking tool. Indexly and AirOps appear in their own competing listicles but their primary framing is workflow automation, not dedicated citation tracking. AI Visibility Checker (our own free tool) is a one-off scanner without operational cadence and didn't pass hard filter two. G2 and Capterra are review aggregators, not tools.

The 5-criterion scoring rubric

Each tool is scored 0-2 on five criteria. Rubric definitions and the scoring rationale per cell are documented in a public source map; the verification methodology behind every claim is below.

  • Engine coverage (0-2). Fewer than 3 engines = 0. 3-4 bundled with no flexibility = 1. 5+ engines OR 3-4 bundled with à la carte add-on flexibility = 2. The à la carte path scores equivalently to bundled because both give the buyer access to the engines they need at a fair price.
  • Tracking cadence (0-2). On-demand only = 0. Scheduled-only weekly or monthly = 1. Daily auto OR weekly auto + flexible manual triggers (3+ per week) = 2. Both paths give the buyer same-day or near-same-day data when they need it.
  • Metric depth (0-2). Mentions only = 0. Citation rate and share of voice = 1. Citations, share, and integrated competitive or paid+organic context = 2. The metric depth dimension separates spot-check tools from operational tracking platforms.
  • Pricing transparency (0-2). Undisclosed = 0. "Contact us" enterprise only = 1. Publicly listed tiers with dollar amounts = 2. Pricing opacity is itself a buyer-experience signal.
  • Model-version transparency (0-2). Opaque = 0. Models named in blog or changelog only (not product copy) = 1. Specific model versions disclosed in product copy OR always-current policy commitment with described mechanism = 2. The dimension where the entire category is most opaque to buyers.

Verification methodology

The original full audit ran on 2026-05-09 against each vendor's own publicly accessible pages: homepage, /pricing, /features, /docs, blog index, and FAQ. Two-pass verification per vendor (one primary buyer-evaluation page plus one secondary methodology or blog page). The verification covers what a typical buyer doing 30 minutes of due diligence would find. Disclosures buried in customer-only support articles, deep changelogs, or developer API docs were not part of this audit.

A refresh audit ran on 2026-05-19 specifically against the AI-Advisors entry, capturing the live ChatGPT Ads integration and the in-product Google Ads to ChatGPT Ads converter as named differentiators. On 2026-09-09 the vendor set was expanded from seven to ten, adding Ahrefs Brand Radar, Scrunch AI, and AthenaHQ, each verified that day against its own pricing page under the same two-pass method. Scrunch's pricing page had moved domains by then, so the row records the destination rather than the old address. The seven original rows carry their 2026-05-09 and 2026-05-19 verification dates unchanged; the next full re-audit of all ten vendors is planned for approximately 2026-12-09.

Cells where verification produced no substantiation read "Not publicly disclosed" rather than being inferred from third-party sources or vendor memory. The full per-claim source map with verbatim quotes is documented internally and available on request.

Nine of ten vendors disclose neither specific model versions nor an always-current commitment in the product copy a typical buyer evaluates.

Whether that's because they query cheaper legacy models, because they don't keep models updated, or because they don't see model choice as buyer-relevant, we can't say from outside the vendor. What we can say: when the disclosure is absent, the buyer is buying tracking data they cannot verify against the experience their actual customers have. That's a real product-decision question every buyer should ask before signing a contract or entering their credit card.

Enterprise and SEO-suite tier: Profound, SEMRush, Ahrefs Brand Radar, Scrunch AI, AthenaHQ

The enterprise tier and the SEO-suite-with-AI-module category share a feature: both serve buyers who already have budget approved for a broader platform investment. Profound is the dedicated Answer Engine Insights tool with the broadest verified engine coverage (9 engines named on their homepage). SEMRush AI Visibility Toolkit and Ahrefs Brand Radar are the AI modules inside established SEO platforms, at $99/mo standalone and from $50/mo respectively. Scrunch AI and AthenaHQ are dedicated trackers whose paid entry sits above the mid-market band, at $250/mo and $295/mo.

EnterpriseContact sales6/10

Profound

Pricing. Public dollar pricing not extractable from /pricing on 2026-05-09 fetch
Engines. ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI, DeepSeek, Google AI Overviews
Cadence. Not stated on homepage or docs
Metrics. Homepage names features (Answer Engine Insights, Agent Analytics, Prompt Volumes) but specific metric outputs not enumerated
Model versions. Partial: blog announcements name specific ChatGPT, Claude, and AI Mode releases as Profound adds support, but the disclosure does not appear consolidated on a single buyer-evaluation page
Engines 2Cadence 1Metrics 1Pricing 1Models 1
Best for. Teams that want maximum engine breadth and have an enterprise budget
Fair note. Profound publishes blog announcements when adding engine or model support. The disclosure exists; it just isn't surfaced where a buyer evaluating tools would find it on a single page.
Enterprise / SEO-suite$99/mo standalone8/10

SEMRush AI Visibility Toolkit

Pricing. Standalone $99/mo or Semrush One bundle $199/mo (combines SEO + AI Visibility); free plan = Domain Overview only
Engines. ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity
Cadence. Weekly Brand Performance + daily Position Tracking
Metrics. Mentions, citations, brand sentiment, share of voice, AI visibility score, topic coverage, citation frequency by page/topic
Model versions. Not disclosed in KB or blog
Engines 2Cadence 2Metrics 2Pricing 2Models 0
Best for. Teams already using Semrush for SEO who want one platform spanning both surfaces
Honest reframe. SEMRush's standalone Toolkit at $99/mo is genuinely competitive on the rubric. The honest question for a buyer: do you want one tool that does both SEO and AI Visibility (Semrush), or separate dedicated tools? If you already use Semrush, the marginal cost to add AI Visibility is small. If you don't, picking up Semrush as your AI Visibility vendor adds workflow overhead the dedicated AEI tools don't carry.
Enterprise / SEO-suiteFrom $50/mo7/10

Ahrefs Brand Radar

Pricing. Custom Prompts "Starts at $50/mo"; AI Visibility Index $199/mo (83 prompts/day, 2,500 checks/month, overage $0.020/check). Existing Ahrefs customers get 5-20 free custom prompts by plan tier. Verified 2026-09-09
Engines. AI Overviews, Gemini, Perplexity, ChatGPT, Copilot, AI Mode, Claude
Cadence. Custom prompts refresh daily; the Visibility Index re-tests monthly on a 90-day reporting window
Metrics. Brand visibility across AI answers plus YouTube and Reddit, and an AI Visibility Index measured in checks. The specific metric outputs beyond visibility are not enumerated on the product page
Model versions. Not publicly disclosed; Claude is named as a tracked platform but no model versions are given
Engines 2Cadence 2Metrics 1Pricing 2Models 0
Best for. Teams already paying for Ahrefs who want AI answer tracking without adding a second vendor
Honest reframe. Brand Radar is the closest structural parallel to the SEMRush Toolkit: an AI module inside an established SEO suite rather than a dedicated tracker. The buyer question is the same one. If Ahrefs is already in your stack, the marginal cost is small and existing plans include a handful of custom prompts. If it is not, you are buying a suite to get a module. The YouTube and Reddit coverage is a genuine difference from every dedicated tool in this set.
Enterprise$250/mo (Core)5/10

Scrunch AI

Pricing. Core $250/mo (125 unique prompts) / Enterprise custom. Annual pricing not publicly disclosed. Verified 2026-09-09, at which point scrunchai.com/pricing 301-redirected to scrunch.com/pricing
Engines. Core: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI, Copilot. Enterprise widens to 9: adds Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Google AI Mode, Grok
Cadence. Not publicly disclosed on the pricing page (2026-09-09)
Metrics. The pricing page quantifies prompt volume (125 unique prompts at Core) and names supported platforms, but does not enumerate the metric outputs a buyer would see
Model versions. Not publicly disclosed; platforms are named, model versions are not
Engines 1Cadence 1Metrics 1Pricing 2Models 0
Best for. Enterprise teams that need the nine-engine list and will run an enterprise procurement to get it
Honest reframe. Scrunch's engine breadth is real but tier-gated, and the score above is anchored at the tier a buyer can actually price. The nine-engine list belongs to Enterprise; the publicly priced $250 Core tier covers four and does not include Claude or Gemini. Anyone comparing Scrunch's headline breadth against Profound's should confirm which tier a quote actually covers.
EnterpriseFree (Essential); $295/mo (Starter)6/10

AthenaHQ

Pricing. Essential free with $25 free credit and 300 credits; Starter $295/mo with 3,600 credits; Enterprise custom. The page defines the unit plainly: "1 credit = 1 AI response." Verified 2026-09-09
Engines. Essential: ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot. Starter widens to 10 models, adding AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI
Cadence. Not publicly disclosed on the pricing page (2026-09-09); the plans meter responses rather than a stated frequency
Metrics. Credit-metered AI responses with a published unit definition, but the metric outputs a buyer would read are not enumerated on the pricing page
Model versions. Not publicly disclosed; no GPT, Claude, or Gemini version is named
Engines 2Cadence 1Metrics 1Pricing 2Models 0
Best for. Teams that want to sample a tracker at zero cost before committing, then scale to ten models
Honest reframe. AthenaHQ is the only tool in this set with a genuinely free entry tier, which makes it the cheapest way to see your own baseline before spending anything. The credit model is the thing to model carefully: at 1 credit per AI response, 300 credits is a sampling budget, not an operating cadence, and the jump to a real one is $295/mo.

The choice inside this tier is rarely "which is better in absolute terms" - it's "which fits your existing stack." If you already use Semrush or Ahrefs for SEO, the marginal cost to add AI answer tracking is small and the workflow integration saves overhead. If you don't carry either footprint and your buyer mix genuinely requires 9-engine coverage (which is rare for B2B mid-market), Profound's breadth becomes the deciding factor.

Two cautions specific to this tier. First, read the engine count against the tier you can actually buy: Scrunch's nine-engine list is an Enterprise feature, while the publicly priced $250 Core tier covers four and excludes Claude and Gemini. Second, watch the metering unit. AthenaHQ prices in credits at one credit per AI response, so 300 free credits is a way to see your baseline rather than an operating cadence. Neither vendor publishes a tracking frequency on its pricing page, which is the single most common disclosure gap in this tier.

Mid-market dedicated tier: AI-Advisors, Peec, Superlines

The mid-market dedicated tier is where the most option density lives. Three tools at the $79-$99/mo entry price band, each making a different bet on what mid-market B2B buyers value: integrated paid + organic AEO with the AI Visibility Lift halo (AI-Advisors), broad engine coverage including Grok (Peec), or UI-based tracking methodology (Superlines). All three ship dedicated AI citation tracking as the primary product, not as an add-on to a broader platform.

Mid-market dedicated$99/mo (Growth)10/10

AI-Advisors

Pricing. Starter $49 / Growth $99 / Enterprise custom; 14-day free trial; 17% annual discount
Engines. ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Google AI Overviews (core); Claude, Copilot, Grok available as +$15/mo per platform à la carte
Cadence. Weekly briefings + 3 manual runs/week (pooled across sites)
Metrics. AI Visibility Lift, citation tracking, weekly briefings, Content Studio, integrated paid + organic AEO in one platform. Live ChatGPT Ads integration (view, edit, publish, analyze campaigns overlayed with AEO citation data via the OpenAI Ads pixel and programmatic API key for Insights). In-product Google Ads to ChatGPT Ads converter that scores keyword convertibility 0-100, classifies each keyword into one of five Context Hint Patterns, rewrites headlines under 60 characters, and recommends matching organic AEO content per row.
Model versions. Policy commitment: 'always current default model on each platform; we switch immediately when a platform releases a new default'
Engines 2Cadence 2Metrics 2Pricing 2Models 2
Best for. Mid-market B2B teams that want one platform for organic AI citation tracking and the operational launch pad for ChatGPT Ads campaigns
Mid-market dedicatedTier names public, $$ not disclosed on /pricing6/10

Peec

Pricing. Starter / Pro / Advanced / Enterprise tiers named with feature differentiation; specific monthly prices did not extract from /pricing on 2026-05-09
Engines. ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Co-pilot, Perplexity, Gemini, Grok
Cadence. Daily tracking (Starter through Advanced); daily or weekly (Enterprise)
Metrics. Per-tier feature differentiation documented; specific metrics partially documented
Model versions. Not disclosed on homepage, /pricing, or blog index
Engines 2Cadence 2Metrics 1Pricing 1Models 0
Best for. Mid-market SEO teams that want broad engine coverage including Grok
Honest reframe. Peec's 7-engine coverage is the broadest in the dedicated AEI tier we found. The pricing opacity is the friction: tier names are public but a buyer can't compare cost without booking a sales call, which is unusual at this market position.
Mid-market dedicated€89/mo (Starter)7/10

Superlines

Pricing. Brand: Starter €89 / Growth €379 / Enterprise custom. Agency: Agency Growth €299 / Agency Enterprise custom. 17% annual discount; 7-day free trial
Engines. 3 engines at Starter tier (homepage lists 9 engines available across higher tiers)
Cadence. Daily tracking (all tiers)
Metrics. Brand Visibility, Citation Rate, Sentiment, Platform Breakdown, Share of Voice
Model versions. Not disclosed on homepage or docs.superlines.io
Engines 1Cadence 2Metrics 2Pricing 2Models 0
Best for. European mid-market teams that want UI-based tracking (vs API) and a public price
Honest reframe. Superlines emphasizes "data directly from UIs, so you see what users see" as their methodology wedge. That's a real product difference: API-based tracking can return different results than what end users actually see in the chat window. Worth weighing against the 3-engine entry tier.

AI-Advisors leads the rubric at 10/10 because it ships à la carte engine flexibility, weekly cadence with manual flex triggers, integrated paid + organic metrics, public pricing, and an explicit always-current model policy commitment. Peec covers the broadest engine set (7) in the dedicated tier but the pricing opacity is the friction. Superlines wins on the UI-based methodology but trades off the Starter tier's 3-engine entry. The right pick at $79-$99/mo depends on which dimension matters most for your buyer's actual workflow.

The AI-Advisors paid + organic differentiator

AI-Advisors is the only verified tool in the ten that ships a live ChatGPT Ads integration alongside the citation tracking surface. The integration covers four jobs in one workflow: view, edit, publish, and analyze campaigns overlayed with the same AEO citation data the platform already tracks. Two install rails wire it up. The OpenAI Ads pixel drops into a Google Tag Manager container with a one-click install for conversion tracking. The programmatic API key wires up Insights reporting and programmatic campaign management. No developer needed for either rail.

Inside the same dashboard, an in-product Google Ads to ChatGPT Ads converter takes keywords you already pay for and turns them into ChatGPT Ads briefs. The converter pulls your top spending campaigns via read-only OAuth, scores each keyword for ChatGPT Ads suitability on a 0-to-100 convertibility scale, classifies each one into one of five Context Hint Patterns (Persona + Intent, Question, Topic + Disqualifier, Outcome-Seeking, Stack Comparison), rewrites headlines under the 60-character ChatGPT Ads ceiling, and surfaces a per-row organic content recommendation that compounds the paid placement with an AEO bridge piece. A free public demo of the converter (3-keyword limit, no signup) lives at the Google Ads to ChatGPT Ads converter.

The honest caveat. Bid placement still happens in OpenAI's Ads Manager, not in AI-Advisors. The ChatGPT Ads API does not yet support third-party media buying. AI-Advisors prepares the campaign (convertibility scoring, headline rewrites, context hints, budget estimation, readiness assessment) and pushes the brief into your OpenAI Ads workflow. The integration scores 2/2 on metric depth in the rubric because the buyer sees the cause-and-effect between paid spend and organic AI Visibility Lift in one weekly briefing rather than reconciling two dashboards. The seventh-day citation lift sits next to the spend that drove it.

Free tool
Check your current AI visibility before you pick a tool

See how ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews currently respond for your brand and category queries. No signup. Try the free AI Visibility Checker.

SMB / starter and newer-entrant tier: Otterly, Visby.ai

The SMB / starter tier serves solo operators and individual marketers who want dedicated citation tracking without a mid-market platform investment. Otterly's $29/mo Lite tier is the cheapest dedicated AI citation tracker we verified. Visby.ai is the newer entrant in this set with simple ChatGPT + Claude + Gemini coverage starting at $79/mo.

SMB / Starter$29/mo (Lite)8/10

Otterly

Pricing. Lite $29 / Standard $189 / Premium $489 / Enterprise custom. 15% annual discount; free trial available
Engines. ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, MS Copilot (core); Google AI Mode and Gemini available as paid add-ons
Cadence. Daily tracking (all tiers)
Metrics. Recommendations + GEO URL audits (1,000 / 5,000 / 10,000 per month by tier); Google Looker Studio Connector at Standard+
Model versions. Not disclosed on homepage or blog
Engines 2Cadence 2Metrics 2Pricing 2Models 0
Best for. Solo operators and SMBs starting from zero who want the cheapest entry point that still delivers real tracking
Honest reframe. Otterly's $29/mo Lite tier is the cheapest dedicated AI citation tracking we verified. For solo operators, that's a strong entry. The trade-off: 15 prompts at Lite is a small surface that may not capture enough buyer-scenario coverage for a mid-market team.
SMB / Newer entrant$79/mo (Starter)5/10

Visby.ai

Pricing. Starter $79 / Growth $199 / Enterprise custom; free trial available
Engines. ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini
Cadence. "Real-time alerts" stated; specific automated frequency options not disclosed
Metrics. Brand mention tracking, mention frequency, historical performance data, prompt performance data
Model versions. Not disclosed on homepage; /faq URL 404'd on 2026-05-09
Engines 1Cadence 1Metrics 1Pricing 2Models 0
Best for. Teams evaluating a newer entrant with simple ChatGPT + Claude + Gemini coverage
Honest reframe. Visby.ai is the newer entrant in this set. The 1,500+ teams claim suggests real traction. The buyer's question: how does the cadence actually work in practice? "Real-time alerts" is the only frequency language on the homepage. A buyer should ask the vendor directly: when do prompts re-run? Daily? On a trigger? Continuously?

At this tier the trade-offs are clearer: Otterly wins on price and verified daily cadence; Visby.ai is the newer entrant with traction (1,500+ teams claim) but cadence specifics are not disclosed on their homepage. A solo operator running a single brand can ship real tracking on Otterly's $29 Lite plan inside the first week. A team needing more prompts or more domains will hit Otterly's 15-prompt cap quickly and want the Standard tier at $189 - at which point the AI-Advisors and Superlines mid-market dedicated comparison becomes more relevant.

Patterns across the 10 tools

The frequency analysis below shows what "good" has in common across the verified set, where the industry converges, and the disclosure gaps a buyer should expect to find.

Patterns across the 10 tools
What good has in common, where the industry is opaque, and the disclosure gaps.
Public dollar pricing in product copy
8/10
Daily or daily+manual cadence in product copy
6/10
Specific model versions disclosed in product copy
0/10
Always-current model policy commitment in product copy
1/10
Coverage of ChatGPT (universal)
10/10
Coverage of Claude
7/10
Coverage of Microsoft Copilot
8/10
The standout finding: zero of ten vendors disclose specific model versions in product copy. Nine of ten also lack always-current commitment language. Model-version transparency is the dimension where the AI citation tracking category is most opaque to buyers, and the dimension where buyer questions during procurement should be sharpest.

Three observations from the cross-tool analysis matter for procurement. First, universal coverage of ChatGPT and strong coverage of Microsoft Copilot reflect where the cited B2B traffic actually lives in 2026. Claude coverage (7 of 10 vendors) is meaningful but not yet universal; if your buyer mix puts weight on Claude for technical or developer-tool categories, the per-vendor Claude coverage matters more than the headline engine count.

Second, 71% of vendors publish dollar pricing in product copy. The two that don't (Profound and Peec) have different reasons: Profound's homepage CTAs are demo-and-contact-sales, consistent with enterprise pricing; Peec lists tier names and feature differentiation but withholds dollar amounts at this market position, which is unusual. Both gaps require the buyer to engage sales before they know the cost.

Third, the model-version transparency gap is the dimension where the category is most opaque. Zero of ten vendors disclose specific model versions in product copy. One of ten (AI-Advisors) ships an always-current policy commitment with described switching mechanism. One of ten (Profound) names model versions in blog announcements but not in product copy a typical buyer evaluates. The other eight disclose neither. When the disclosure is absent, the buyer is paying for tracking data they cannot verify against the experience their actual customers have.

When the disclosure is absent, the buyer is buying tracking data they cannot verify against the experience their actual customers have.

The deeper pattern, beyond the rubric scores, is that the AI citation tracking category is rapidly maturing on engine coverage and cadence (most vendors converged on daily or weekly automated tracking with 3-7 engines) but lagging on transparency. Pricing transparency is reasonably common; model transparency is rare. A buyer asking "which model does this tool query?" should expect to be told - and should treat the answer's clarity as a procurement signal.

Citation tracking sits alongside the sibling discipline of AI prompt monitoring (input-focused tracking of a curated prompt set over time). Most production tools support both lenses, but the vendor's marketing language usually emphasizes one. Worth knowing when comparing tools: "prompt monitoring" framing in vendor copy is the input-focused sibling of the output-focused citation tracking discipline this comparison is built around.

Whichever tool a buyer picks, the data exports into the same recurring artifact: the monthly AI visibility report the team sends to the CMO. The capability matrix in that post compares all 8 vendors on price, engine coverage, sampling cadence, and the report-output layer specifically.

How to choose by buyer stage

The matrix below maps your buyer stage to the recommended pick. Each row is intentionally specific: when the fit is genuinely better at a competitor, the matrix sends you to the competitor. The honest editorial intent is to help the right buyer find the right tool, not to rank one vendor above another in absolute terms.

How to choose by buyer stage
Match the recommendation to your stage. Each row sends you to a different vendor when the fit is genuinely better.
If your stage isRecommended pickWhy
Solo operator or SMB starting from zeroOtterly Lite ($29/mo)Cheapest dedicated AEI tool we verified. 15 prompts is small but enough for a single-brand pilot.
Mid-market with no SEO platform yetAI-Advisors Growth ($99/mo) or Superlines Starter (€89/mo)Both ship dedicated AEI at the same price band; AI-Advisors integrates paid + organic; Superlines emphasizes UI-based tracking.
Already use Semrush for SEOSemrush One ($199/mo) or AI Visibility Toolkit standalone ($99/mo)Bundle if you want one platform for both jobs. Standalone if you want to evaluate AEI without expanding Semrush footprint.
Enterprise needing 9-engine breadthProfound (contact sales)Broadest engine coverage in the verified set. Trade the pricing opacity for engine breadth if your buyer mix actually crosses 9 engines.
Want à la carte engine flexibilityAI-Advisors or OtterlyBoth ship 4 core engines + paid add-on engine slots. AI-Advisors adds Claude/Copilot/Grok at +$15/mo each; Otterly adds Gemini/AI Mode separately.
Want broad engine coverage but flexible $$Peec (book a sales call) or Visby.ai (Starter $79)Peec covers 7 engines but pricing opacity means a sales call. Visby.ai is the newer entrant with simple ChatGPT + Claude + Gemini coverage.

Two rows in the matrix deserve a closer read. First, "Already use Semrush for SEO" sends the buyer to Semrush One or the standalone AI Visibility Toolkit precisely because the workflow integration savings are real. AI-Advisors and the other dedicated AEI tools serve buyers who don't already pay for a SEO platform, not buyers who do. Second, "Want à la carte engine flexibility" applies equally to AI-Advisors and Otterly because both ship the model-of-flexibility that mid-market buyers ask for: pay for the engines you actually need, not for the ones you don't. The list of competitive picks at this dimension is small (these two were the only verified examples).

Once you pick a tool, the operational question becomes weekly cadence: which prompts to track, how to read the trend signal, and how to convert the data into action. The weekly monitoring framework covers the operational side post-purchase. The 7-step playbook covers what to do once the data shows your citation share is stuck.

For the AI-Advisors-specific case, the Answer Engine Insights platform overview documents the always-current model policy, integrated paid+organic AEO mechanics, and weekly briefing workflow that drove the 10/10 score on this rubric. Useful context whether you pick us or one of the other six.

Before you sign anything, run the free AI Visibility Checker to get a snapshot of your current citation status. Setting a pre-purchase baseline is what lets you measure the tool's impact in the first 30 days, regardless of which vendor you pick.

After you pick a tool: a 30-day starter playbook

The tool comparison ends the day you sign a contract. The operational work begins the next morning. Here is the standard 30-day arc most B2B teams run after picking any of the ten tools above. It applies regardless of which vendor you chose; the UI is different but the discipline is the same from week two onward.

Week 1: baseline plus prompt portfolio

Set your baseline before changing anything. Run the free AI Visibility Checker on five to ten brand and category queries to capture a "before" snapshot independent of your new tool. Inside the tool you bought, populate the prompt portfolio. The portfolio that actually works has three buckets: buyer-evaluation queries ("best CRM for 50-person teams"), how-to queries that map to your product capability ("how to track ChatGPT citations"), and competitor-comparison queries ("X vs Y vs Z"). Aim for twenty to fifty prompts in week one. Volume is the second-quarter problem; signal density is the week-one problem, and signal density comes from prompts that mirror real buyer language.

Week 2: first read of the data

Pull your first weekly report. Three numbers matter. Citation rate across the engines you care about. Share of voice on the prompts where you appear. Competitor citation map on the prompts where you don't. Resist the urge to act yet. Week-two data is mostly noise; the real signal lives in the week-four trend line. The exception is anything that surprises you. A surprise (an unexpected competitor citing on a prompt you assumed you owned, or a citation in an engine you didn't track) is worth investigating immediately because the surprise itself is the signal.

Here is what those three numbers look like in a real run. When we ran "AI citation tracking tools" across eight engines in June 2026, therankmasters.com led with 6 citations spanning four engines (Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, and Google AI Mode), and wrodium.com followed at four. The recall engines (ChatGPT, Grok, and Meta) returned zero citations, which means a tracking tool that only checks ChatGPT would have reported you as invisible on a query where five other engines were actively citing sources. Citation depth varied widely too: Gemini surfaced 24 sources and Google AI Mode 28, while Perplexity surfaced 6 on the same query. That spread is the case for tracking every engine, not one.

Source: AI-Advisors CI research, query "AI citation tracking tools" across 8 engine surfaces, June 2026.

Week 3: source gap audit

On the prompts where competitors appear and you don't, examine which sources the engine pulled from. The third-party domains those answers cite are your third-party citation targets. Two work streams here. Produce your own content that's a better source than the cited domains (the slow lane that pays off in months two and three), and pitch the existing high-authority sources to mention your brand (the fast lane that can show movement inside a single audit cycle). Source-gap closure is the highest-ROI move in month one because it expands the surface area of pages an engine can pull from, not just the prompts you happened to seed in week one.

Week 4: first directional read

Compare week-four's report to week-one's baseline. If citation rate is flat, that's expected. AI engines update their retrieval slowly, and four weeks is not enough time to see structural movement. What you're looking for instead is directional movement on the prompts you actively worked, and stability on the prompts you didn't. Movement on un-worked prompts means the engine's underlying retrieval shifted, which is signal you should record but not act on yet. Stability on un-worked prompts means your week-two baseline was real, not artifact. By the end of week four your team has a working dashboard cadence, a verified baseline number, and a triaged list of source-gap opportunities. That's a successful month one.

Most teams hit a plateau around month two when the easy gaps are closed and the residual ones require deeper content investment or distribution partnerships. The weekly monitoring framework covers what to do once the dashboard is operational. The 7-step playbook on improving citation share covers what to do when the trend stalls.

Frequently Asked Questions

#Is this the same as academic citation tracking software?

No. Two unrelated categories share the name. Academic citation tracking follows scholarly references between published papers, using reference managers like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote, or citation-graph tools like Scite, Semantic Scholar, Elicit, Litmaps, and ResearchRabbit. The ten tools on this page do something different: they monitor whether AI answer engines such as ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Google AI Overviews, and Claude cite your brand as a source when buyers ask evaluation questions. None of the academic tools track brand visibility in AI answers, and none of the ten here track scholarly references. A third practice, AI citation verification, checks whether the sources an AI tool produced in its own answer actually exist; that is an anti-hallucination check for writers, not a brand measurement tool.

#How did you score these 10 tools?

5 criteria, 0-2 points each, 10 total. Engine coverage (more = better, with à la carte flexibility scoring equivalently to bundled). Tracking cadence (daily auto = 2, weekly + flexible manual = 2, on-demand = 0). Metric depth (mentions only = 0, citations + share = 1, citations + share + integrated context = 2). Pricing transparency (publicly listed tiers = 2, contact-sales only = 1, undisclosed = 0). Model-version transparency (specific versions in product copy OR always-current policy commitment = 2, blog/changelog only = 1, opaque = 0). The seven original rows were verified 2026-05-09 against each vendor's own publicly accessible pages; Ahrefs Brand Radar, Scrunch AI, and AthenaHQ were verified the same way on 2026-09-09.

#Why isn't Discovered Labs, Indexly, or AirOps on this list?

Discovered Labs is a managed AEO service ($5,495/mo per their own disclosure), not a citation tracking tool. Indexly and AirOps are listed in their own competing "best of" listicles but their primary product framing is workflow automation rather than dedicated AI citation tracking. We picked tools whose primary job is the operational discipline of citation tracking, not adjacent categories. Vendors we missed are welcome to suggest inclusion in the next quarterly update.

#What's the difference between specific model disclosure and policy disclosure?

Specific model disclosure (naming a specific version) is verifiable but goes stale when the platform releases a new default. Policy disclosure ("we always use the current default model") is durable but requires trust that the vendor keeps the commitment. Both score 2/2 in the rubric because they disclose meaningfully different things. Snapshot is more verifiable; policy is more evergreen. Nine of ten vendors do neither in product copy a buyer typically evaluates.

#Should I pick a dedicated AI citation tracking tool or an SEO suite with AI module?

Depends on your existing stack. If you already use Semrush for SEO, the marginal cost to add their AI Visibility Toolkit is small and the integration saves workflow overhead. If you don't have a Semrush subscription, picking up a full SEO suite just to access AI Visibility adds infrastructure you would not otherwise need. The same logic now applies to Ahrefs, whose Brand Radar module includes a handful of custom prompts on existing plans. Dedicated AEI tools (Profound, AI-Advisors, Peec, Otterly, Superlines, Visby, Scrunch AI, AthenaHQ) are the better fit for teams without an existing SEO platform investment. Either way, the per-engine measurement methodology applies regardless of which tool you pick.

#Which tools cover Claude, Copilot, or Grok specifically?

Claude coverage in the verified set (7 of 10): AI-Advisors (add-on at +$15/mo), Superlines (Enterprise tier), Profound (per their blog), Visby.ai (core), Ahrefs Brand Radar, AthenaHQ (Starter), Scrunch AI (Enterprise tier only, not the $250 Core tier). Copilot coverage (8 of 10): AI-Advisors (add-on), Otterly (core), Peec (core), Profound, Superlines, Ahrefs Brand Radar, AthenaHQ, Scrunch AI (included at Core). Grok coverage: AI-Advisors (add-on), Peec (core), Profound, Superlines, AthenaHQ (Starter), Scrunch AI (Enterprise). If your B2B buyer mix puts more weight on these engines than on the universal-coverage ChatGPT, the per-engine pricing matters more than the headline tier price, and so does which tier the engine actually sits behind.

#How often should I re-evaluate this comparison?

Quarterly at minimum. The AI citation tracking category is moving fast: vendors add engines, change pricing, and sometimes pivot product focus on a 60-90 day cadence. We re-run the full vendor audit every 90 days and update the scoring with the verification date. Original audit dated 2026-05-09; refreshed 2026-05-19 with live ChatGPT Ads integration coverage on the AI-Advisors entry; expanded 2026-09-09 with three vendors verified that day (Ahrefs Brand Radar, Scrunch AI, AthenaHQ). The next full re-audit, with all ten vendors re-verified against public pages, is planned for approximately 2026-12-09. Bookmark the post and check the verification date before relying on the scores.

#What questions should I ask each vendor before signing a contract?

Five buyer-protection questions: (1) Which specific LLM model versions do you query for each engine I'm tracking? (2) Do you commit to switching to the platform's new default model when one releases, and how fast? (3) What's the prompt count and engine coverage in my contracted tier? (4) Can I add or remove engines à la carte after signing? (5) What does your contract say about price increases at renewal? The model-version answer is the buyer-information dimension most often missing from public copy.

#Why does AI-Advisors keep a 10/10 score on the rubric if it ships ChatGPT Ads and the others don't?

The 5-criterion rubric measures the core AI citation tracking job: engine coverage, cadence, metric depth, pricing transparency, and model-version transparency. AI-Advisors hits 2/2 on all five at the Growth $99/mo tier, which is the 10/10 the rubric supports. The ChatGPT Ads integration and Google Ads to ChatGPT Ads converter are differentiators that sit alongside the rubric rather than altering it. We could have added a sixth criterion called 'paid + organic integration' and AI-Advisors would have scored 12/12, but that would have rigged the rubric in our own favor. Instead the integrated paid surface is documented as a named differentiator in the mid-market tier section, and the rubric stays unchanged from the 2026-05-09 audit, including through the 2026-09-09 expansion to ten vendors, so the comparison reads honestly.

#Is the Google Ads to ChatGPT Ads converter actually live, or is it on the roadmap?

Live as of May 2026. Both the in-product converter (inside the Growth plan dashboard, available with the Google Ads integration) and a free public demo at /tools/google-ads-to-chatgpt-ads-converter are running on the same conversion engine. The in-product version connects to your Google Ads account via read-only OAuth, pulls your top spending campaigns by spend, extracts the top 30 keywords plus all unique ad copy headlines, and runs them through the conversion engine in bulk. The free public version is limited to three keywords pasted manually and is a no-signup preview. Both versions return the same outputs: a convertibility score, per-keyword Context Hint Pattern classification, rewritten headlines under 60 characters, negative-keyword candidates, and an AI Visibility Lift content recommendation per row. The actual ChatGPT Ads media buy still happens in OpenAI's Ads Manager because the ChatGPT Ads API does not yet support third-party bid placement. AI-Advisors will wire live bid management when OpenAI ships the API.

Kevin O'Connell
Kevin O'Connell
Founder & AEO Consultant, AI-Advisors.ai

20-year B2B SaaS marketer. 3x Head of Marketing. One company exit (Sapling HR acquired by Kallidus, 2021). Now building AI-Advisors.ai to give mid-market B2B teams the AI visibility tools enterprise brands get. Writing about Answer Engine Optimization, ChatGPT Ads, Microsoft Copilot SEO, and the 5 A's of AI Marketing framework.

✦

Start tracking your AI visibility today

Install the tracking snippet, run your first audit, and see how AI platforms treat your brand. Start your 14-day free trial.

Get Started Free

Keep Reading

Answer Engine Insights
How to Track Brand Mentions in AI Search: A B2B Methodology
9 min read
Answer Engine Insights
AI Share of Voice: What Google's New Tool Means for B2B
7 min read
Answer Engine Insights
How to Build an AI Visibility Report (2026 Methodology + Template)
14 min read