Reported ChatGPT Ads CPMs run from about $25 to more than $65, with no account minimum since May 5, 2026 and a documented per-campaign daily minimum that varies by billing currency (US $25/day, September 2026). On a per-impression basis, ChatGPT is competitive with LinkedIn ($30-$50 CPM) at typical rates and roughly 5-7x cheaper than B2B SaaS Google Search Ads on an effective CPM basis. The minimum dropped from $200,000 (Feb 9, 2026 launch) to $50,000 (April 13) to zero (May 5) when OpenAI opened the Ads Manager to all US advertisers.
- CPM range: $25 (Criteo low, April) to $60 (launch rate), about $45 typical (Jellyfish, April); advertisers reported $64-$65+ in September
- Minimum spend: No account minimum since May 5, 2026 (was $50K from April 13 to May 5; was $200K at launch); OpenAI documents a per-campaign daily minimum that varies by billing currency (US $25/day)
- Effective CPC: $3.13 to $7.50 at 0.8% click-through rate; advertisers reported $4.41 to $9.89 blended in September
- vs Google Search Ads (B2B SaaS): roughly 5-7x cheaper per impression
- vs LinkedIn (B2B targeting): roughly equivalent ($40 LinkedIn / $45 ChatGPT), about double at the $65 some advertisers reported
- Who's spending the most so far: see our breakdown of 7 best B2B brands advertising on ChatGPT for the documented cohort and what each is paying for
The price tag on ChatGPT Ads used to be the first thing that filtered most marketers out of the conversation. $60 CPM, $200,000 minimum, no self-serve dashboard. Those three numbers knocked 99% of businesses out of the running for the first two months of the pilot.
That filter started loosening in April 2026 and was removed entirely on May 5. The minimum dropped 75 percent on April 13 and to zero on May 5 when OpenAI opened the Ads Manager to all US advertisers; a self-serve Ads Manager went live April 10; and CPMs began compressing toward the middle of the paid media market. This post breaks down what ChatGPT Ads actually cost right now, how the current range benchmarks against the platforms B2B marketers already run, what $50,000 actually buys at three CPM scenarios as a planning anchor, what OpenAI says about CPC bids, and whether the ROI math can work given the measurement gaps still baked into the pilot.
For the news context on what changed in April, see ChatGPT Ads Just Opened to Every US Advertiser: What Marketers Should Do First. For the complete platform overview, see the complete guide to ChatGPT Ads. This post is the cost reference.
What Do ChatGPT Ads Cost?
ChatGPT Ads cost between $25 and $60 CPM in the deals reported through spring 2026, depending on which path into the channel you use, and advertisers who published results in September reported CPMs above that band. Digiday reported on April 17, 2026 that some advertisers were paying CPMs as low as $25 through Criteo's Commerce Media channel. Jellyfish's Chief of Media Activation, Jai Amin, told the same outlet that averages across negotiated deals were drifting closer to $45. Direct deals with OpenAI's sales team still anchor closer to the $60 launch rate.
The launch CPM was $60. OpenAI did not derive that number from an auction. It was the price OpenAI set on February 9, 2026 to anchor ChatGPT Ads alongside premium streaming inventory. Netflix entered the ad-supported market at $55-$65 CPM in 2022, and OpenAI copied that band almost exactly. The number signaled what OpenAI thought the channel was worth at the start, not what the market would settle on.
Nine weeks of auction pressure later (mid-April), the picture was more textured. The $60 base rate still held in directly negotiated deals. The Criteo channel was pricing 50-60 percent lower. Most actual deals were landing somewhere between, with Jellyfish reporting averages closer to $45. Ad Age reported a single low of $15, though the sourcing on that figure is less clear and we don't lean on it.
The minimum spend was removed entirely on May 5, 2026 when OpenAI opened the Ads Manager to all US advertisers. Before that, it dropped to $50,000 on April 13 (down from $200,000 at launch). Digiday first reported the April 13 drop on April 10. eMarketer described the April change as OpenAI "slashing" the entry threshold; the May 5 removal of the floor opens the channel to every US business currently running Google Ads. The original cohort that cleared the $200K floor (Target, Ford, Adobe, Mrs. Meyer's, plus the agency triad of WPP Media, Omnicom, and Dentsu) has now grown to over 600 advertisers per CNBC's late-March count.
Three things shape what you actually pay. First, the access path: self-serve at ads.openai.com (no account minimum since May 5, 2026), Criteo's programmatic pipeline (lower threshold via the SMB tier opened March 31), or direct OpenAI negotiation (often closer to launch CPM). Second, your bid strategy. How high you set a max CPC, and whether you leave new ad groups on the Maximize results default, changes what a click costs, which we walk through in Section 4. Third, your creative quality, though the optimization tooling to act on this is limited as of late April.
For the deeper retrospective on what the $200K minimum actually did to the market, see ChatGPT Ads and the $200k Minimum: What Replaced It.
What Are Advertisers Actually Paying?
The best evidence on real costs so far comes from advertisers who published their own results. Search Engine Journal's September 8, 2026 roundup collected four of them. These are advertiser-reported figures, not OpenAI-published ones, and OpenAI says it does not yet have performance benchmarks across advertisers, industries or campaign types.
| Advertiser | CPM | CPC | CTR |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hostinger (nearly $70,000 spend) | Above $65 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Common Thread Collective (high-AOV ecommerce, $9,620) | Not stated | $4.41 | 0.94% |
| B2B campaign, Floyd Blaikie (about $7,000 CAD) | $64.34 | $9.29 | 0.7% |
| Synter (blended across markets, $4,428.84) | Not stated | $9.89 | Not stated |
Synter's blended CPC by market: UK $5.10, US $10.62, Australia $17.59, New Zealand $22.89 (the last two on much lower volume). The Blaikie campaign spent in Canadian dollars; the source does not say whether its CPC and CPM are also in CAD. "Not stated" means the source did not report the figure.
Two things stand out. First, both tests that reported a CPM came in at $64-$65 or more, above the roughly $45 Jellyfish reported in April and above the $60 launch rate, which is the opposite of the trend the April coverage suggested. At $65 CPM the $50,000 model below produces about 769,000 impressions, 6,150 clicks and 185 conversions, an effective CPC near $8.13 and a CPA near $270. Second, for a B2B buyer the cost per click matters less than who is clicking: the B2B campaign's team matched 336 paid clicks to 146 organizations and found only 5 that fit its ideal customer profile, something Ads Manager gave it no way to see.
The samples are small, the verticals differ, and only one is identified as B2B, so treat these as a range of outcomes rather than an average. Hostinger's PPC lead also initially reported CPCs no higher than Google Search before his assessment turned more cautious as spend grew.
How Does the CPM Compare to Other B2B Channels?
At a $45 effective CPM (the Jellyfish-reported April average), ChatGPT Ads is roughly equivalent to LinkedIn for B2B targeting, materially more expensive than Meta and YouTube, and dramatically cheaper than Google Search Ads on a per-impression basis. At the $64-$65+ CPMs some advertisers reported in September, it runs about double LinkedIn's average. The chart below normalizes all five platforms to effective CPM so a B2B marketer can compare them on a single axis.
Three observations stand out. First, the LinkedIn comparison. LinkedIn's 2026 B2B CPM averages $33 with a median of $31, and the band runs $30 to $50 once you account for senior-title premiums. CPMs have risen 28% year-over-year. At a $45 ChatGPT effective CPM, the B2B premium over LinkedIn's average is roughly 35 percent. For a marketer already running LinkedIn at $40 CPM, ChatGPT at $45 is not a new price point to justify. It is close to the same price point in a richer conversational context.
Second, the gap to paid social. Meta's 2026 average is $7-$15 (FB $7.47, IG $7.68 per Feed, US average $23 high-end per Sovran). YouTube's typical advertiser pays $5-$15 per thousand, with long-form averaging $11.40 per NoteLM 2026 data. ChatGPT's $25 low end is still 2-3x Meta and YouTube. If your paid social engine runs on Meta efficiency, ChatGPT at any current CPM is a premium buy that needs to earn its price through intent quality, not reach.
Third, and most underweighted in the cost coverage so far: the comparison to Google Search Ads. B2B SaaS keywords cost $5-$15 per click at the median, with non-brand CPCs reported at $8.50-$14.00 by GrowthSpree. Cybersecurity and FinTech keywords push CPCs to $16-$18. At a 4% click-through rate (a reasonable B2B SaaS baseline per 42 Agency), an $8 CPC normalizes to a roughly $320 effective CPM. A $14 CPC at 4% CTR is a $560 eCPM. A $18 cybersecurity CPC at 5% CTR is a $900 eCPM.
The implication: for B2B marketers comparing where to put a learning budget, ChatGPT Ads at a $45 effective CPM is roughly 7x cheaper than Google Search Ads on a per-impression basis (about 5x at $65). The trade-off is intent. Google Search captures explicit purchase queries. ChatGPT captures conversational research-stage queries. Different parts of the funnel, different per-impression economics, and different conversion windows downstream.
For the deeper Google comparison, see our breakdown of ChatGPT Ads vs Google Ads.
Even after April's 50 percent CPM drop, ChatGPT Ads at a $45 effective CPM is roughly equivalent to LinkedIn at $40 - and about 7x cheaper than B2B SaaS Google Search Ads on a per-impression basis.
What Does $50,000 Actually Buy You?
The math on $50,000 depends on three numbers: the CPM you actually pay, your click-through rate, and your downstream landing-page conversion rate. Two of those depend on your creative and your offer. One depends on which access path you use. The matrix below holds CTR and conversion rate constant and varies CPM across the three documented scenarios.
| CPM scenario | Impressions | Clicks (0.8% CTR) | Conversions (3% CR) | Eff. CPC | CPA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $25 (Criteo low) | ~2,000,000 | 16,000 | 480 | $3.13 | $104 |
| $45 (Jellyfish avg) | ~1,110,000 | 8,900 | 267 | $5.63 | $188 |
| $60 (direct rate) | ~833,000 | 6,667 | 200 | $7.50 | $250 |
Math: impressions = $50,000 / CPM × 1,000. Clicks = impressions × CTR. Conversions = clicks × CR. Effective CPC = $50,000 / clicks. CPA = $50,000 / conversions. The 4x spread in conversions across CPM scenarios is why your access path matters more than your creative for the first pilot quarter.
The 4x spread in conversions across CPM scenarios (480 at $25 CPM versus 200 at $60 CPM) is why your access path matters more than your creative for the first pilot quarter. A $50,000 pilot at the Criteo low produces 480 conversions; the same budget at the direct rate produces 200. That difference shows up in your CPA: $104 at the Criteo low versus $250 at the direct rate.
For perspective on the impression base: ChatGPT has 1.2 billion weekly users globally, per OpenAI at its September 2026 DevDay. CNBC confirmed on March 26 that 85% of US users sit on ad-eligible Free or Go tiers. Adthena's February 2026 analysis of 500+ prompts found ads in just 0.8% of responses. That deliberate scarcity holds premium CPMs and means your impressions reach a much smaller slice of the user base than the raw weekly-active number suggests.
The 0.8% CTR and 3% landing-page conversion rate assumptions in the matrix are conservative. Industry analysts estimate well-optimized ChatGPT campaigns could hit 3-5% CTR once conversational creative matures. Criteo's February 2026 analysis of 500 US retailers found that LLM-referred users convert at 1.5x the rate of other channels. If you hit a 3% CTR at the $45 Jellyfish average, your 267 conversions becomes roughly 1,000, and your CPA drops from $188 to $50. The unit economics swing dramatically based on creative-conversation fit.
At a $25 CPM, 0.8 percent click-through, and a 3 percent landing-page conversion rate, $50,000 produces 480 conversions for a $104 CPA. For a B2B SaaS with $5,000 ACV, that prints money. For a $200 consumer product, it loses money on the first sale.
The $50K math depends on whether your campaign keywords actually map to high-intent ChatGPT conversations. The free Converter returns a 0 to 100 convertibility score, classifies each keyword into 1 of 5 Context Hint Patterns, and writes ChatGPT-ready ad copy for each. Run yours before locking your test budget.
Run the free Converter →What Does the $3-$5 CPC Bid Guidance Mean?
Screenshots from advertisers with early CPC access, shared on April 21 and 22, added a piece of cost data that none of the earlier coverage had: what the Ads Manager suggests you bid. Glenn Gabe relayed them with the note that ChatGPT says to enter a max bid between $3.00 and $5.00. That is all the screenshots established: a suggested range on a bid field. They did not show a documented floor, a category table, or what anyone actually pays per click.
This post read those screenshots in April as a hard-coded floor set by category. That reading went further than the evidence, and it has not held up. OpenAI's current help center frames the number as guidance: for CPC campaigns it recommends starting with a maximum bid of $3-$5 USD per click, and says Ads Manager may show bid-strength guidance on whether a bid is likely to be competitive or may limit delivery. A recommended starting bid is not a documented floor, a category table or a benchmark (OpenAI documents none of those), and the September advertiser reports above show blended CPCs from $4.41 to $9.89 (and $22.89 in one small market). Since August, new ad groups can also default to Maximize results, which sets and adjusts bids automatically and does not guarantee a CPA, CPC or ROAS target; manual max-bid is the opt-in route to a hard ceiling.
The cost implication carries straight to your $50,000 pilot. At a $5 cost per click, $50,000 buys up to 10,000 clicks; at $10, roughly 5,000. Same budget, half the click volume, depending on what you actually pay per click. Set the max bid deliberately, read the bid-strength guidance when Ads Manager shows it, and watch average CPC in reporting rather than assuming the starting bid is the price.
For the full first-look on the dashboard, including the new Context hints targeting primitive that replaces keywords, see our ChatGPT Ads Dashboard breakdown.
Before you commit $50,000 to a pilot in a channel where measurement is still maturing, check whether you already show up in ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Google AI Overviews organically. Most brands don't, and they don't know it. Earned visibility is the multiplier that makes paid CPMs work.
Run your free AI visibility check →How Did the Cost Get Here? September 2025 to May 2026
The price compression happened fast enough that most marketers haven't internalized it yet. From a $1 million minimum reportedly pitched to the original beta wave in late 2025, to a $200,000 confirmed floor at launch, to $50,000 in April, to zero on May 5, 2026: twelve weeks of structural change after ads first went live. The timeline below shows only events that materially affect what an advertiser pays. Pilot expansion and customer announcements are filtered out.
Three forces drove the compression in parallel. First, auction pressure showed up earlier than expected. At launch, 85% of users were eligible to see ads but less than 20% did on any given day. That deliberate supply scarcity held CPMs at the $60 launch price through February and most of March. International expansion (Canada, Australia, New Zealand on March 26) and Criteo's SMB tier (March 31) both opened more inventory and admitted more advertisers. Supply-to-demand shifted; prices followed.
Second, revenue diversification is under IPO pressure. OpenAI disclosed $100 million in annualized ad revenue on March 26, six weeks into the pilot. Per Axios on April 9, the company is projecting $2.5 billion in 2026, scaling to $11 billion in 2027, $25 billion in 2028, $53 billion in 2029, and $100 billion by 2030. Those targets cannot be hit on enterprise-only managed deals at $200,000 minimums. They require scaling advertiser count by two orders of magnitude, which requires self-serve, which requires a lower price point that pulls more advertisers into the auction. The CPM drop is the mechanism.
Third, platform history is the template. Google, Meta, and Amazon each ran a managed-service phase before moving to self-serve, and each saw CPMs compress as supply opened. Netflix followed the same pattern in streaming. OpenAI is running the same playbook three times faster, in a medium where auction infrastructure and measurement are still being built in parallel. That combination is why the curve is steep.
Nine weeks compressed ChatGPT Ads CPMs by 50 percent. Netflix took twelve months. The faster drop is not a sign of a struggling channel. It is auction pressure showing up earlier than the managed-service-only phase typically allows.
Can You Earn Positive ROI at These CPMs?
The CPM is in the premium band but the conversion data carries a different signal. AI referral traffic converts at 4.4x the rate of organic search per Semrush. B2B SaaS sees even wider gaps in some studies, with conversion-rate improvements of 6-27x depending on category. The 4.4x cross-industry baseline is what holds the premium end of the CPM range.
Whether the math actually works for your business depends on two variables nothing in the cost data fully captures: your annual contract value and your sales cycle length. Map your product on the matrix below.
The matrix collapses to a single rule: ACV-driven products work; volume-driven products don't (yet). A B2B SaaS with $5,000 ACV pencils out clearly. At the $45 Jellyfish-reported CPM, the 267 conversions on a $50K pilot produce a $188 CPA against $5,000 in first-year revenue per closed deal. Even at a 5% close rate from conversion to paid customer, that is roughly 13 customers per pilot quarter and a $3,700 cost-of-acquisition. For a SaaS retaining a customer for two-plus years, the LTV math works at a comfortable margin.
The same math fails for a $200 consumer product. A $104 CPA against a $200 average order value is a 52% gross margin floor before product cost, and a $188 CPA against the same $200 AOV leaves $12 before product cost, which is a loss once you pay for the product. The Criteo 1.5x conversion lift moves the needle but not enough to flip a low-AOV consumer product into ROI-positive territory at $45 CPM. AEO-first economics make more sense for that quadrant.
The bigger problem with ROI calculation is that you still cannot fully measure it. OpenAI's dashboard surfaces impressions, clicks, and now pixel-tracked conversions. The conversion pixel and a server-side Conversions API launched broadly on May 5, 2026 as a self-serve beta, tracking 10 events with a 30-day attribution window, and Ads Manager now reports one-day view-through conversions (the reporting window you choose changes reporting only, not bidding or billing), so much beyond click and the pixel events is still on you to track. The bid side moved too: new ad groups can default to an automated strategy with no guaranteed cost target, which is worth checking before you model a CPA at all with UTM parameters and your own analytics stack. Robert Webster, founder of AI marketing consultancy TAU, told Digiday the honest version: "Post-click is easy. Post-view at $60 CPM is hard. Until someone independent can verify what a ChatGPT impression is actually worth, advertisers are taking OpenAI's word for it."
Where Is the Cost Going Next?
The honest answer is that nobody outside OpenAI can say, and the forecast this section made in May has not held up. The May version predicted that the Jellyfish-reported average would drift from about $45 toward $35-$40 by Q3. The September advertiser reports point the other way: two published tests came in at $64.34 and above $65 CPM, at or above the $60 launch rate. OpenAI has published no CPM benchmark, and Search Engine Journal notes that Ads Manager offers no Auction Insights equivalent or competitive reporting to explain why one advertiser pays more than another.
Two structural forces still argue against a collapse to paid-social prices. OpenAI's ad-revenue targets (per Axios, $2.5 billion in 2026 scaling to $100 billion by 2030) need yield per advertiser, not only volume, which fits LinkedIn-style premium pricing better than Meta-style commodity pricing. And Adthena's analysis of 300,000 daily prompts found ads in roughly 0.8-1% of responses through March and April, a scarcity that supports prices. Neither predicts a specific number.
The practical answer is to stop betting on a trend. Model three CPMs ($25, $45 and $65), choose manual bidding if you need a hard ceiling rather than relying on the Maximize results default, and re-run the matrix against your own click-through and conversion rates each quarter.
What's the Real Cost When You Add the AEO Layer?
The CPM is the visible price. It is not the full cost. The right way to budget for ChatGPT Ads is not as a standalone paid-channel buy. It is as the paid layer of a two-layer visibility strategy where the earned layer (organic Answer Engine Optimization) does the multiplying.
A brand that is invisible in ChatGPT's organic responses is buying cold impressions at paid CPMs. The user sees the sponsored placement, has no prior recognition, and treats the click as exploratory. Conversion rates on cold impressions are a fraction of warm. A brand that already appears organically in ChatGPT's recommendations or Google AI Overviews is buying a multiplier on a signal that already exists. The user sees the sponsored placement, recognizes the brand from the organic conversation, and treats the click as commitment.
The cost framing follows. If you spend $50,000 on ChatGPT Ads with zero organic AI visibility, the effective CPA is the table number ($104-$250). If you spend $50,000 on ChatGPT Ads while already being organically cited in 30% of relevant prompts, the effective CPA is materially lower because the conversion rate on warm impressions runs 2-3x higher. The total channel cost (paid plus the earned-media investment that produced organic citations) is what you should compare to your ACV, not the paid line alone.
Practical implication: before you commit a $50,000 pilot budget, run the visibility audit. The free AI Visibility Checker shows where you currently stand in ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Google AI in 30 seconds. If you appear organically in fewer than 20% of relevant prompts, the higher-leverage move is splitting the budget: $30,000 on AEO content production for 60-90 days first, then $20,000 on a paid pilot that lands on a brand the audience has now heard of inside ChatGPT.
For the full pillar argument on how earned and paid layers reinforce each other, see AEO vs SEO and The 5 A's of AI Marketing.
The real cost of ChatGPT Ads is not the CPM. It is the joint cost of paid distribution plus organic AEO presence. Brands without organic visibility pay a premium to advertise into an audience that has never heard of them inside ChatGPT.
What Should You Do Next?
The cost structure of ChatGPT Ads is still moving, and not in one direction. The entry threshold fell to zero and measurement improved, but advertisers who published results in September reported CPMs above the launch rate. Decisions made today should assume the numbers will look different again by the end of the quarter.
- Read the May 5 news breakdown for what changed when OpenAI removed the minimum and opened the platform to every US advertiser
- Read the news breakdown on the April 10 early-access launch and the $50K minimum for the original timeline, readiness framework, and primary sources
- Use $50,000 as a planning anchor (not a floor) for a 60-90 day learning budget; map your product on the ROI matrix above before briefing creative
- Run your free AI Visibility check to see if you are showing up in ChatGPT organically before spending on ads
- Use the free ChatGPT Ads Mockup Generator to preview your creative in the live ad format before you write a brief
- Read the campaign setup walkthrough for the three May 2026 access paths (self-serve, Criteo, direct) and the trade-offs of each
- For the Google Ads comparison, see ChatGPT Ads vs Google Ads in 2026
- If you want help navigating the channel or building organic AI visibility first, see the AI Ads platform or get in touch
Before you commit a creative brief or cut a check, see what a ChatGPT Ad actually looks like next to a conversational answer. The free Mockup Generator renders your copy in the live ad format in seconds. No account needed.
Generate your free ChatGPT Ad mockup →Frequently Asked Questions About ChatGPT Ad Costs
#How much do ChatGPT Ads cost?
Reported ChatGPT Ads CPMs run from about $25 to more than $65. Digiday reported in April 2026 that the $60 launch rate had fallen to as low as $25 through Criteo, with Jellyfish seeing averages closer to $45; advertisers who published results in September 2026 reported CPMs of $64.34 and above $65, and blended CPCs of $4.41 to $9.89. OpenAI publishes no CPM benchmark. There is no account minimum now that OpenAI has opened the Ads Manager to all US advertisers (the account floor dropped from $200,000 to $50,000 to zero; OpenAI documents a per-campaign daily minimum that varies by billing currency (US $25/day, September 2026)). At typical rates that is comparable to LinkedIn at $30-$50 CPM, and roughly 5-7x cheaper per impression than B2B Google Search Ads.
#How much do ChatGPT Ads cost in 2026?
ChatGPT Ads cost between $25 and $60 CPM in the deals reported through April 2026, with Jellyfish reporting averages closer to $45, and two advertisers who published results in September 2026 reported CPMs of $64.34 and above $65. The Criteo channel priced inventory at the low end ($25-$35 per Digiday April 17). Direct OpenAI deals anchored closer to the $60 launch rate. There has been no account minimum since May 5, 2026, when OpenAI opened the Ads Manager to all US advertisers (was $50,000 from April 13 to May 5; was $200,000 at launch); OpenAI documents a per-campaign daily minimum that varies by billing currency (US $25/day, September 2026).
#What is the minimum spend for ChatGPT Ads?
There has been no account minimum since May 5, 2026, when OpenAI opened the self-serve Ads Manager to all US advertisers; OpenAI documents a per-campaign minimum daily budget that varies by billing currency, $25/day in the US (September 2026). OpenAI publishes the daily minimum for 30 billing currencies, for example 15 EUR, 15 GBP, 725 INR and 2,500 JPY. A daily budget is treated as a seven-day average, so a single day can spend up to twice the budget. The account minimum was $50,000 from April 13 to May 5, 2026 (down from the original $200,000 floor confirmed by Adweek in early February). The Criteo SMB tier remains an alternative access path (live since March 31) without a direct OpenAI commitment.
#How does ChatGPT Ads CPM compare to LinkedIn and Meta?
At a $45 effective CPM, ChatGPT Ads is roughly equivalent to LinkedIn for B2B targeting (LinkedIn averages $33 with a $30-$50 band per 2026 benchmarks) and roughly 3-6x more expensive than Meta (FB averages $7.47, IG $7.68; the wider Meta band is $7-$15). At the $64-$65+ CPMs some advertisers reported in September, ChatGPT runs about double LinkedIn's $33 average. For a marketer already running LinkedIn at $40 CPM, ChatGPT at $45 is close to the same price point in a richer conversational context. For a marketer running Meta efficiency, ChatGPT is a premium buy that needs to earn its price through intent.
#What does $50,000 actually buy in ChatGPT Ads?
At a $25 CPM, $50,000 buys roughly 2 million impressions, 16,000 clicks at a 0.8% CTR, and 480 conversions at a 3% landing-page rate. At $45 CPM, you get 1.11 million impressions, 8,900 clicks, and 267 conversions. At $60 CPM, you get 833,000 impressions, 6,667 clicks, and 200 conversions. At the $65 some advertisers reported in September, it is about 769,000 impressions, 6,150 clicks, and 185 conversions. CPA ranges from $104 to about $270 across the band. Effective CPC ranges from $3.13 to about $8.13. Note: there has been no account minimum since May 5, 2026 (per-campaign daily minimum that varies by billing currency (US $25/day) per OpenAI, September 2026), so $50K is a useful planning anchor rather than a floor; you can test with whatever budget fits your existing paid-media program.
#Are ChatGPT Ads more expensive than Google Search Ads?
On a per-click basis, ChatGPT effective CPCs derived from $25-$60 CPMs run $3.13 to $7.50 at a 0.8% click-through rate, and advertisers who published September results reported blended CPCs of $4.41 to $9.89, against B2B SaaS Google Search CPCs of $5 to $15. On a per-impression basis, ChatGPT Ads at a $45 effective CPM is roughly 7x cheaper than B2B SaaS Google Search Ads, which run an effective CPM of $200-$400 once you normalize $8 CPCs at a 4% CTR (about 5x cheaper at $65). The catch is intent: Google captures explicit purchase queries; ChatGPT captures conversational research queries.
#How much does each ChatGPT Ad click cost?
Each click costs roughly $3.13 at the $25 Criteo low, $7.50 at the $60 launch rate, and about $8.13 at $65, assuming a 0.8% click-through rate baseline. Advertisers who published results in September 2026 reported blended CPCs from $4.41 to $9.89, and as high as $22.89 in New Zealand on low volume. OpenAI recommends starting a CPC campaign with a maximum bid of $3-$5 USD per click but publishes no CPC benchmark or minimum bid; early-access screenshots on April 21 and 22 showed the Ads Manager suggesting a $3.00 to $5.00 max bid. CPC billing went live on April 21, 2026 inside the new Clicks objective per Digiday's reporting, so advertisers can bid on a cost-per-click basis directly rather than only deriving CPC from CPM.
#Will ChatGPT Ads keep getting cheaper?
Not reliably. CPMs fell from $60 at launch to as low as $25 by mid-April 2026 in the Criteo channel per Digiday, but advertisers who published results in September 2026 reported CPMs of $64.34 and above $65, and OpenAI publishes no CPM benchmark. Two structural forces argue against a collapse to paid-social prices: OpenAI's ad-revenue targets need yield per advertiser, not only volume, and Adthena found ads in under 1% of responses through April, a scarcity that supports prices. Neither predicts a specific number, so model $25, $45 and $65 scenarios rather than betting on a trend.
#When does the ChatGPT Ads ROI math work for B2B?
The math works when annual contract value is high enough to absorb the $104-$270 CPA at current CPMs. A B2B SaaS with $5,000+ ACV pencils out clearly: a $188 CPA against $5,000 ACV is roughly a 27x return on the pilot before churn. A B2B service with $20,000+ ACV pencils more easily. Audience fit is the larger risk: one B2B advertiser that deanonymized its paid clicks found only 5 of 146 identifiable organizations matched its ideal customer profile. Sub-$1,000 ACV products with long sales cycles are the hardest to pencil, because the measurement that would justify them is only partly there: the pixel and Conversions API have been live since May 5, 2026, the Conversions objective is now selectable, and Ads Manager reports one-day view-through conversions, a window far shorter than a B2B sales cycle. For those advertisers, AEO remains the cheaper learning path. Whichever way the math lands, check the bid strategy before you fund a test, because an automated default that does not hold a cost target changes the answer.
Related Reading
- Best ChatGPT Ads Management Platforms in 2026
- ChatGPT Ads Just Opened to Every US Advertiser: What Marketers Should Do First
- Inside the ChatGPT Ads Dashboard: A First Look at CPC Setup, Bidding, and Context Hints
- ChatGPT Ads and the $200k Minimum: What Replaced It
- ChatGPT Advertising for Business: Is It Worth It in 2026?
- Inside OpenAI's Advertising Platform: The Strategic Bet Every Marketer Should Understand
- How to Convert Google Ads to ChatGPT Ads in the AI-Advisors Platform
- How to Convert Google Ads to ChatGPT Ads: A 2026 Migration Methodology
